4AA VS 4D bulb question

mykall

Enlightened
I have a question about incan. bulbs rated for 4D cells as opposed to
4AA. I use these cheap automatic motion sensing lights in my hallways
so that I don't have to flip lights on and off all the time (and possibly leave them on).

Anyway they take either 4AA cells or the optional 6V wall adapter. I have been using nimh cells in them for about 2 years with good results. Each of the 3 units came with a couple of spare bulbs which I"m now out of . I went to several stores to see if I could find one of these screw based 4.8V (not sure how many "A") bulbs. The closest thing I could find was one at ACE Hardware rated for 4 "D" cells. When put in the unit the bulb will come on and after about 3-4 seconds starts flashing.

Is this the wrong amp rating? It does appear quite a bit brighter than the original though. Since 4D and 4AA are both 6V is there a difference besides just capacity?

Thanks
MB

RoyJ

Enlightened
mykall said:
so that I don't have to flip lights on and off all the time (and possibly leave them on).

Anyway they take either 4AA cells or the optional 6V wall adapter. I have been using nimh cells in them for about 2 years with good results. Each of the 3 units came with a couple of spare bulbs which I"m now out of . I went to several stores to see if I could find one of these screw based 4.8V (not sure how many "A") bulbs. The closest thing I could find was one at ACE Hardware rated for 4 "D" cells. When put in the unit the bulb will come on and after about 3-4 seconds starts flashing.

Is this the wrong amp rating? It does appear quite a bit brighter than the original though. Since 4D and 4AA are both 6V is there a difference besides just capacity?

Thanks
MB

No, there's no difference between 4AA and 4D. You just bought a "flasher" bulb, that's all! I made the same mistake before.