wanting to do a magmod

TB383

Newly Enlightened
Hey hows it going? I just wanted to ask yall a couple of questions on a mag mod. I am just getting into flashlights and would like to mod a maglite. I have been lurking around and searching and searching and reading more and more about different ways to go about it. Anyways, i just thought i would ask yall what yall think would be a good mod to do to a maglite for someone who has not done one yet, but has a decent understanding about it?? I dont have any problems soldering up stuff, and puting resistors in. But if you dont mind, just point me in the right direction. I am wanting to eventually do a mag mod to two different mags, one made for throw beam, and one made for light flood. Right now i want to start with the throw one.

I am wanting a light that will be really bright, and will have a good amount of battery life. Size does not matter but would pefer it to be smaller than a 4d mag. Let me know what you think i should do. I appreciate the help.

Thanks

Travis

DonShock

Flashlight Enthusiast
IMHO, The biggest and simplest WOW factor will probably come from building a Mag85 using a 3D host. Just do a search on Mag85, there's lots of threads with the details.

bfg9000

Flashlight Enthusiast
Like the potted Mag85, the ROP is also a great first Mag mod because it requires no custom machining. Both use potted bulbs that install just like the stock bulb and rechargeable AAs (6 for ROP, 9 for Mag85). The difference is the ROP is built in a 2D and the Mag85 a 3D. Besides the bulb, all that is needed is a batteries + carrier, aluminum reflector, and glass lens.

Unfortunately runtime for either is just over a half-hour. Using six sub-c cells in a 4D ROP would allow about an hour, or six D cells in (what else) a 6D ROP nearly 3 hours.

Then there's LED and even HID (which throws farthest AND runs for two hours in a 2D) Mags as well, if you are willing to budget more.

TB383

Newly Enlightened
Norm said: