Charging my protected Li-Ion Battery Pack 14.8V 4.0Ah

dickybeau

Newly Enlightened
Hi

I'm really new to the custom light business 9and just about anything electrical if truth be told) and have one of these packs to use with a bike light that I built from a kit I bought here.

I bought the pack and have an Imax B6 charger that I thought beforehand might work. Unfortunately the B6 booklet says it cannot be used with protected batteries/cells.

The pack has 8 cells and was bought from ebay. (I would post a link but not sure if this would transgress any rules)

Can I ask for some advice about possible solutions. It's beginning to get darker and want to be prepared with batteries fully charged.

I live in the UK if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance.

richard

VidPro

Flashlight Enthusiast
well i am not going to be much help.
because that hobby charger can be used with protected cells, just not the same way, with the exact same things happening.
like , as the protection kicks in on a high voltage, the cell/pack will Properly disconnect and the charger will beep its head off and complain about a disconnection. SO :)
Then charging or Re-Charging a cell/pack at the lower rate would get it 98% charged, even though it may end the charge complaining about a disconnection.

it would have a few more issues when it tried to balance charge too, because you didnt buy a balance tapped pack :-0

then you have a PACK, packs have protection but rarely use protected CELLS inside the pack itself. they have a pack protection that one curcuit board, protects all the cells.

well let me start out by saying, you cant overprotect, and conflicts that you would have between the 2 will be protection. there would be no safety problem from the pack protection and the proper cutoff protection of the charger.
and