Ansmann maxE / maxE Plus LSD

Eismagier

Newly Enlightened
(Repost, unfortunately my account and posts got lost in the abyss)

I picked up a 4-pack of Ansmann's maxE and maxE Plus LSD AA cells the other day on a whim. They're widely available here, but I've never tried them before. So far the results are disappointing to say the least.

The standard maxE AA cells are advertised as 2100 mAh (2000 mAh min) LSD cells. The maxE Plus cells are advertised as 2500 mAh (2400 mAh min). Ansmann doesn't make any claims as to a specific percentage of charge retention beyond "1 year stand-by without recharging". Both types are labelled as made in China.

Visually, the maxE cells bear a striking resemblance to the Sony CycleEnergy Gold cells I played with a few weeks ago (identical vent holes, ridge near the positive terminal, bump on the negative terminal).

The packs I picked up did not have a state stamp on either the cells or the packaging, so I can't rule out that it might be old stock.

Fresh out of the package, a 400 mA discharge on the C9000 revealed the following residual capacities for the 2100 mAh maxE cells:

1298 mAh
1254 mAh
1305 mAh
1282 mAh

These cells just finished their break-in cycle (capacity set to 2100 mAh), resulting in these reported capacities (same order as above):

1879 mAh
1877 mAh
1853 mAh
1943 mAh

With all cells below the advertised minimum capacity and only one within acceptable tolerances, these will likely be the last of their kind that I've bought.

500 mA discharge results for the "2500 mAh" maxE Plus cells:

124 mAh
143 mAh
6 mAh
9 mAh

I can't really call these "pre-charged" by any stretch of the imagination, but I ran them through break-in anyway to see what they're made of. The results were similarly disappointing:

2322 mAh
2248 mAh
2303 mAh
2347 mAh

I contacted Ansmann and was asked to send the cells in for testing and replacement, which I did. I'll post an update once I hear from them.

Eismagier

Newly Enlightened