flashlight help please *newbie*

pops

Newly Enlightened
hi all newbie here so please take it easy..

my friend has recently bought an o light flashlight 2200 lumens which has got me interested so been looking for budget flashlight but i honestly dont know a thing about them, so what im looking for is something that has a tight beam but bright and has a beam throw of around 100-150meters for around $40-$50 been looking on ebay but dont have a clue so thinking best to ask the experts and hopefully someone can help me in my search,

pops

Gary123

Enlightened
I am not aware of anything in your price range. And most companies grossly misrepresent the throw of their lights. Some will rate a light at 200 meters based on the barest amount of light touching the target, even if it is a practically useless amount of light. Look at the reviews of thrower lights, if that is really what you want. There are numerous threads.

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
2 problems:
1st: 100-150 meters ... hmm :thinking: possible, but useless
2nd: the brighter the light, the more power it needs, the bigger/heavier it is, the less runtime it has

and 3rd problem: what battery setup to choose?

my advise goes for a small, portable light which is used often and for someone who does not yet have a rechargeable setup with Ni-Mh charger (expensive!) and cells ... and has no need for certain cells (means: no GPS an thus multiple AA Ni-Mh)

DX links removed

note: these are all low quality parts, but for all the ones I have recommended so far the last year, they all work quite good.
In case You like the general setup You can still get better parts but the setup (--> 1*18650) is not to beat in the moment.

PS: that almost is what I use for mtb-nightrides and I am not going to switch to more powerful led.
Brightness + size + runtime of this is simply perfect for my taste

Last edited by a moderator:

pops

Newly Enlightened
hi all newbie here so please take it easy..