got it in with a load full of failure

Louman

Newly Enlightened
I'm still a noob.

HOWEVER, I did spend some time on the forums and did my homework. I bought two flashlights:

1) A BC40 Jetbeam
2) Fenix E05

When I ordered the Jetbeam, I ordered the Xtar charger wp2. I also ordered eagletac 18650 3100 batteries.

I opened the batteries up and put them on the charger...the number "2" setting. One showed red and one showed green. When they both showed green I took them off.

I place them into the BC40 and nothing. Not even a hint of light. I curse and grumble, but I keep at it. I unscrew the light and find that there is some of that package of moisture stuff in there so I take it out. I think that will fix it. Nope. Still no light.

As one might guess, I am leaving out of town tomorrow and really need this light. Is there anything I am doing wrong?

Here is what I have done:

I have put both batteries into the light with the "+" sign toward the lens, as the brochure showed. I have no idea what else to try. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks to those who may help.

think2x

Flashlight Enthusiast
Try taking the tail cap off and running a jumper from the batt negative to the unanodized part and see if it will light up. If it does light up with the jumper, try installing the batteries from the head instead of the tail(positive up of course). Make sure the tail cap is tightened good, some batteries are longer than others and you have to turn the BC40 tail cap very little to "lock it out"

StarHalo

Flashaholic
Does the Xtar charger stop charging when it reaches that green light? If not, one of your cells is severly overcharged. Also, having a multimeter is a must for using Li-ion cells; it would tell you precisely what is going on with your batteries. I would recommend against doing anything more with those cells until you can check their voltage, otherwise you risk explosion.

Louman

Newly Enlightened