IMR battery uses

Tex S

Newly Enlightened
It is my understanding that IMR cells are to be used in high drain devices. What would constitute as a high drain device?

I have several flashlights and none of them have tested over 2 amps when I take a current draw measurement from the tail cap (if I'm even doing it right :naughty:).

Would 1.5 to 2 amps be considered a low, high, or average current draw?

I'm wondering if IMR batteries might be of use to me, but I'm still kinda new at this.

THE_dAY

Flashlight Enthusiast
For 16340 and 14500, 1.5A-2A is high and IMR would be preferred.
For 18650, 1.5A-2A is within normal drain and higher capacity ICR would be preferred over IMR.

Check out HKJ's battery comparer:
http://lygte-info.dk/review/batteries2012/Common18650comparator.php

You can compare different batteries at different amp settings.
From the 18650 comparer I've noticed that around 3 and 5 amps the IMR's performs better in most cases.
Also IMRs are considered a safer chemistry than ICR.

Tex S

Newly Enlightened
High power incans in small hosts come to mind.

Like a SF 9P with a P90 or P91? I am running a light like this on ICR 17500's now, but I think there is nothing offered in IMR in a 17500.

I had a LF HO-9 but it broke when I accidentally dropped the light.

mattheww50

Flashlight Enthusiast