Emitter upgrade options in a Streamlight Stinger DS LED HP?

Blue Bomber

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys, first post here! I am a complete noob to light modding. I just purchased one of those cheap budget Chinese branded "high power" lights to begin my modding journey lol. So, I am a Police Officer, and like almost all LE (at least here in TX) I have the usual streamlight LED flashlight (purchased new in 2011). I know the bug will eventually bite me, and I will start spending money on plenty of amazing lights (I really like the Olight SR96!), but as far as convenience goes, my SL will still be my belt light, as there is always a charger for it anywhere I am (at the office, at home and in the patrol cars).

My question is, what are my options for increasing the output as much as possible? I am still reading up and learning, but it looks like the emitter in my light is an XR-E (not sure what bin), so as far as direct replacement goes, an MC-E should fit perfect and provide MUCH more output, correct? However, I am not sure what the output is on the current driver in this light, and if I would need, or even COULD put a new driver in to better suit the new emitter (being that my SL is a dual switch). And finally, in order to keep this light as more of a thrower, would I need to replace or modify the reflector in any way?

As many of these lights as there are out there in the world of LE, I was surprised that I didn't find more info online as to them being modded. I found a couple threads pertaining to older Stingers (one got an SSC P7 mod!), but that is about all. I hope I can find the perfect Emitter/ Driver combo for this light!

I apologize for my lack of knowledge, as I am sure I missed a few things here. I hope I posted this in the correct subforum. I look forward to learning all that I can stuff into my brain about lights, and meeting some of you! And thanks in advance!

Blue Bomber

Newly Enlightened