HELP!! AA Battery Question

68chrisshark

Newly Enlightened
I am new to higher end flashlights. I just purchased a Nitecore EA41 2015 Edition.

Can I use the 14500 Batteries in it?

The chinese directions say "Banned"? Does that mean do not use 14500 batteries?

AVService

Flashlight Enthusiast
Considering they are twice the voltage of AA then yes I would not use them if "Banned" in any language!

Unless you need to let the smoke out for some reason?

And Welcome,spend a little time here reading up on the basics too.

D6859

Enlightened
14500s have nominal voltage of 3.7 V. It's more than three times the nominal voltage of NiMH (1.2 V) and over twice the nominal voltage of AA (1.5 V). Using 4 connected in series sums up to 14.8 V (instead of the intended 4.8-6.0 V) which, I'm afraid is enough to fry the circuit in the flashlight. Trust the manual and don't try them.

Last edited:

KeepingItLight

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yours is a tough question that I would not have understood a week ago myself. But, hey!, I never heard about this forum until a week ago. The answers above seem fairly complete. You may get a few more, however, by posting this message in the forum specified in the Announcement sticky above:

Battery questions should go into the Electronics Forum-Batteries Included Forum.

Hope you enjoy new flashlight.

GordoJones88

Flashlight Enthusiast
No you cannot use 3.7v 14500 cells.

Yes, Eneloop Pros are the best, 1.2v NiMH rechargeable.

A close second place is Duracell Rechargeable "Duralock" NiMH green/copper,
which can be purchased at nearly any local store.

chuckhov

Enlightened
"The chinese directions say "Banned"? Does that mean do not use 14500 batteries?"

Of course not! - Forget all about VOLTAGE! - It is not important at all...

How could anyone think that the Manufacturer actually knows anything about their own lights?

It's your first post on here Chris, so gotta cut you some slack...