Who here is into Metal Detecting?...........

bigmikey

Newly Enlightened
I just thought it would be an interesting thread, to see who was into metal detecting, and what detectors you use?, also lets here your stories, about what you have found?, where?, etc. I dont have any yet, but plan on doing it this summer.. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
I am/have been...have an older White's 5000 "D" (not sure about the specific model - I'd have to dig it out).

Found lots of old coins (silver & wheatback pennies), rings, artifacts, etc...

You have to be very careful digging & replace your divots, make it look like no one had ever dug a hole...nothing worse than leaving a "moonscape" behind you! It's that "respect" thing!

I'll post more later, gotta run now...late for an appointment...

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Bigmikey,

I have a Whites Goldmaster II.

I wish I could say that I have found tons of gold with it, but that is not the case. I have found some.

Lots of coins and lots of trash.

I once found a Canada Dry Root Beer can. I did not know that Canada Dry made Root Beer.

My first "find" was a 55 gallon drum that was almost completely rusted away. It was buried about 4 feet deep. After the first foot, I knew it had to be something like that, but kept digging just to be sure.

I caught wind of a rumor that small nuggets had been found at a gravel pit. I went there and got hit after hit. All bullets and shot. It seems I got taken for a little ride. The locals use that pit for a shooting range.

Hope you have a great time with yours.

Tom

bigmikey

Newly Enlightened
Thats cool, I never knew canada dry made rootbeer either /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif. I cant wait to get out there and find something. Thanks for your stories guys. Cant wait to hear more /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

kinzli

Newly Enlightened