Green Laser Warm up time?

Enigmahack

Newly Enlightened
I'm a complete newbie here however I'be been posting/internetting/laser"ing" things for a while and I recently got my first green laser.
I do have a few questions though:
I did get the one that's a Sony and has a glass colluminating (sp?) lens, it's supposed to be a real high quality I guess.
I'm NOT interested in overdriving it at all, however what I AM interested in is this:
When I first turn it on, it seems to "sputter" in that it'll change it's brightness very suddenly for about 1-2 seconds and then puts out a directly green beam that doesn't seem to waiver at all.
I've only had red pointers and have seen them burn out *whoops /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif* as well as when the battery gets low seen them simply fade out as soon as you push the button.

Is this typical of a green laser? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif Is there something wrong? It's still within my warranty period so I COULD have it sent back and replaced however I wanted to know if this is something I can expect if I got another one for example?
Basically is this something I should be worrying about or is it just fine and I'm over-reacting?

Thanks for any help you can provide, and Awesome forum by the way /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*
It's perfectly normal for green or yellow DPSS (diode pumped solid state) lasers to exhibit power output fluctuations during warmup.

If you send your laser back and get another one, chances are it will "sputter" during warmup too.

DaFiend

Enlightened
Majority of my greenies "powewer on" straight away. you will get some that need to be warmed up to reach their potential. But really, should we, as the consumer have to put up with that. I say no. I recommend return it for a replacement, if your replacement plays up, then try for a refund. it really isn't what you paid for if it keeps happening. where did you get this pointer by the way?

Enigmahack