Most suprising? Best and Worst?

suertetres

Newly Enlightened
Like I begin all of my posts, I'm new to teh flashlight world..so i don't have a worst yet... but my most surpsing purchase was a dorcy headlamp. Picked it up at lowes for 12.99. i love this thing, it converted me to led, perfect amount of light. http://www.brightguy.com/detail_int.php?Sku=DOR410100

so what light surpised you the most, best and worst?

dale465

Newly Enlightened
I regret buying the Dorcy 1 watt 3aaa. The beam is ringy, the tint is yellowish and the strobe feature is annoying. And, all this for $25.00.

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yeah, the Dorcy 3xAAA ("super 1 watt") was both a good surprise (brightness) and a bad surprise (BATTERY HOG). With that light I discovered how much I HATE those 3xAAA battery carriers. You shouldn't need a key, coin, or screwdriver to get batteries out of a carrier!

River Rock 2xAA and 2xC - That "full moon" beam from the optic was sure a surprise! I haven't decided if it's a good one or a bad one yet.

River Rock 2xAAA (.5 watt light) - a most excellent little edc light for $9.

TIROS type optics - I was never especially fond of optics (preferred reflectors) until these came along.

Petzl TacTikka Plus - I loved this headlamp until I found out that they make the lights dimmer by "flickering" them rapidly. I noticed it when I tried to use this headlamp to read a book at night and had a headache within minutes! BLECH!

C4LED

Enlightened
- RR 2AAA good surprise.

- Even after reading the review the serious power of the Brinkman Maxfire LX was a good surprise.

- Putting a 3AAA Sears 1 watt PR bulb in a 3D M@g was a good surprise (discussed in other threads). It's cheap, has good power and compares pretty closely with the Dorcy 3D 1 Watt.

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
Great surprise, the Hi-output Xnova 1AA/8LED from Lighthound.