Seized Lanyard

dfred

Enlightened
I have been hanging around CPF for a couple months, but this is my first time starting a topic. I've been consistently impressed with the quality of information and advice here, so I decided it was time to contribute something.

I've been looking for a compact lanyard which reduces the likelihood of fumbling a flashlight. I'm not a big fan of wrist lanyards as they always seem to get caught on stuff. I came across the Koppo Wrap, which I liked but it seemed like there must be a way to accomplish the same thing with less bulk. I started experimenting with various knot configurations that might produce something a little nicer. Most were either insecure, too bulky or both. I made some progress with seized jug hitches, but it was very difficult to tighten them sufficiently to get good purchase on the flashlight.

After several hours of experimentation I eventually arrived at a purely seized method, using constrictor knots which worked better than I imagined possible. Think of constrictor knots as pre-industrial cable-ties. There are several methods to tie them, but two common ones are as a hitch or threaded.

I settled on using 500# paracord for the lanyard and 1.5mm Sterling MINI cord for the constrictors. The lanyards pictured have been in use for about 4-6 weeks and are holding up well. I've really come to like how it feels in the hand and have added this to a few of my lights. For those of you unfamiliar with this style of lanyard, the middle and ring fingers go inside the loop and the index and pinky go outside.

dsc_5565.small.cropped.jpg

Note that lanyard is aligned with witness mark in flashlight body.

dsc_5568.small.cropped.jpg

I find that the loop up inside the clip actually "latches" on the lip of my jeans pocket and makes clip carry more secure.

dsc_5582.small.cropped.jpg

The T2 was my original inspiration for this project... :)