COAST Focusing LED Lenser.. w/pics

Lite_me

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is my first attempt at any type of review so take it easy on me. I'm sure I'll forget something. :)

I'm aware that COAST lights are not held in very high regard here on CPF, but let me say this, I like this light! I had my doubts before buying it but once I got it home, got it out of the package and started looking it over, I felt better. My first thoughts when I took it outside the first evening was,, "Now this is a flashlight". It fits a niche that I have been looking for. The beam is what I would categorize as a wide spot. Very little light if any is lost to spill. And you always have the option to go to a wide beam with just a twist.

What I liked...
Relatively compact and light.
Fit & finish is up to par with the Fenix line I'd say.
The threading is good/clean.
Water resistant.
I have become a fan of this form-factor. I like the 3AAA cartridge idea.
You have standard batteries, can use common rechargeables and a simple charger.
It feeds approx 4.5v to the electronics to drive the light.
Potentally, has more capacity than 1 or even 2 CR123a's.
My research tells me it's Type II anodizing.
Momentary On tail clicky.
The beam quality. All the light can be focused to throw, or
can adjust focus to wide. It does a pretty nice job at it too.
Super bright! (for a non cree :)) A claimed 60 Lumens and Maximum of 3.44 Watts.

There's not much I didn't like...
The $49.97 (at Lowe's) may seem a bit steep but then again, maybe not. I like it, alot!
Let's see.... nope can't think of anything. :grin2:
edit: Well ok, it's not waterproof.

On to some pics...

dsc00467aat2.jpg

dsc00471bue7.jpg

dsc00472aaf5.jpg

dsc00441arh1.jpg

dsc00443asr2.jpg

dsc00445beo5.jpg

dsc00452aaz6.jpg

dsc00454azi9.jpg

123ash7.jpg

456zs1.jpg

567az0.jpg

I realize that this is an outdoor flashlight but it was cold and raining out. Some, well all really, are just for comparison.