Please help advise on modding mr-11 bike light

pbwatson

Newly Enlightened
I have a couple Performance Viewpoint halogen lights that are a few years old. That I would like to modify to use LED's, I have never done any of this before & would like some opinions of what any of you would do with these lights to get the most light output & good battery runtimes, I would like to get at least 4-5 hours of battery life. Runtimes were never all that great in the first place but now as they age are pretty dismal.

Currently the lights are.
-dual beam handlebar mount; 6 volt. 12 & 20 watt mr-11 halogen bulbs
Runs off 7.2v, unknown amphours waterbottle nimh battery
-single beam helmet mount; 6 volt. 12 watt mr-11 halogen bulbs
Runs off 7.2v, unknown amphours flatpack battery (fits in jersey pocket or camelback)

The dual beam battery lasts about 45 minutes if I only use the 12w beam & maybe 30 minutes with occasionally turning on the 20w also. The helmet mount runs maybe 20-30 minutes. At their best I would get 90-120 minutes out of them depending on how much I use the 20w & less than an hour with all bulbs blazing.

I would like to significantly increase my runtime & still get similar light output. If the mods work I'll buy new batteries in the fall when the days get shorter. I was going to test the modding waters by just doing one lamp first, this way I compare runtimes, brightness, and just see if its worth it to mess around with.

I found a drop in mr-11 at superbrightleds but the light output looked pretty pathetic. They have 12 LED in narrow or wide beam for about $9 ea but light output is only 12 lumens, there is a "high power" 1 watt led for $12 but light output is still only 24 lumens. Also both of these are 12 volt & I dont know how they'll run off my batteries.