Headlight Harness Upgrade Questions

pontiacmontana

Newly Enlightened
Hi Noob here to CandlePowerForum:

I'm considering adding a headlight harness upgrade to a 1999 Pontiac Montana running 9004 bulbs.
I have some questions.

I understand the circuit diagram as illustrated in:
http://www.danielsternlighting.com/tech/relays/relays.html

I'm considering the Tyco (formerly Bosch) relays at Parts Express:
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=330-070

Writeup:
12V, 30A relay popular in automotive sound and security installations. Plastic housing with mounting tab. Tyco Electronics has acquired the automotive relay business of Robert Bosch GmbH and is now manufacturing this relay to the original Bosch specifications. SPDT, 20/30A. Equivalent to Bosch #0 332 209 150. Mfg. #V23234-A1001-X036. Made in Portugal.
$3.19 as of 1/10/2010

Q1: Any comments on this component selection?

Q2: Does this application require a diode across the coils.
It is not shown in Daniel Stern's writeup but is mentioned in many other forums. Below is an example socket with the diode included.
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=330-076

Q3: I understand the reliability of the relays to be very good. I have seen other diagrams with 4 total relays, one each for low left, high left, low right, high right headlights. If any relay fails, only 1 headlight will be affected.

An alternative proposal that I'm considering is to have
- Two relays in parallel for left and right low and
- Two relays in parallel for left and right high
The load is shared by the two parallel relays.
In any relay fails "open", the other will handle the full load and no headlights will be affected.
If the relay fails "closed", the inline fuse will blow.

Is this written up anywhere else?
What are the potential problems that I might encounter?

Thanks for your help

PontiacMontana

-Virgil-

Flashaholic