Questions about Flashlights.

frogman74

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to this forum and I have to admit I've been bitten by the light bug.
I own two flashlights. I have a Garrity, Maglite AA flashlights. Now for my questions. I've heard that a flashlight of 60 Lumens can temporarly blind an would be attacker. Is this true? What exactly is a Lumen, can a lumen be compared to Watts? I'm going to be upgrading my maglite to use LED. I love LED lights, but I also favor Halogen Lights. I'm a avid Bicyclist and Cateye is the best in my opinion and does not hurt the pocket book. I would like to wish everyone a safe and Happy New Year. My job is a Custodian working graveyard, so I need a good light to shine in dark corners and self defense. Frogman74

CLHC

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF Frogman74. There's been a lot of discussion regarding utilizing flashlights for self-defense and then some. . .I'm a newbie myself and am still learning.

If you're going to upgrade your Mini Maglite AA, then I'm sure you're aware of the drop-in LEDs that can be had from LED-Replacement.com which has decent pricing on such items. Of course there's the ones that can be bought from Walmart, Fry's Electronics and such from NiteIze which isn't all that bright really. The others from The Sandwich Shoppe, well, it goes WAY up there! Interesting that you mentioned "Cateye is the best" in your opinion, reason being is because it "does not hurt the pocket book." I have to agree with you on the later.

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

Last edited:

carrot

Flashaholic
If someone has their eyes adapted to low light, then 60+ lumens will be blinding, and possibly disorienting (tested on myself), giving you enough time to get the hell away -- probably. Don't count on a light for self-defense though -- you can search for other threads on this topic for more details.