8AA 2D Mag?

RoyJ

Enlightened
Hi all,

I'm a real newbie when it comes to flashlights, so this might sound obvious to some of you.

I want a simple "regulated" bright Mag by using ni-mh instead of alkaline cells. My plan is to put 8 AA cells (9.6V) into a 2D body and use a 6D bulb (regular or xenon). I plan on using a 8AA battery holder from Radioshack and maybe do a little trimming so it'll go into a Mag body.

What do you guys think? Would the holder fit into a Mag body? I know I can get a AA holder from the dealer section, but ordering from the internet is a PITA from up here.

Any other ideas of obtaining a SIMPLE (I'm a newb:) ) regulated and bright output from a Mag body? The Diamond leds are not really regulated. The Everled is but is too weak IMO. I still don't know how regulated the MAG-LEDs will be. But Ni-MH cells at 1.0A should give an almost flat curve.

Thanks in advance.

andrewwynn

Flashlight Enthusiast
i would skip the DIY step on the holder and get a real holder from either fivemega or modamag.. or build your own using similar plans as the 12-cell holder i recently made.. http://rouse.com/circuits (click on mag625 BP).

modamag ships very quickly and i think just charges postal rates for shipping, very cheap.

If you want reaally bright there are many possibilities.. just browse CPF for a couple weeks before making any decisions.. put your wallet in a safe first (i warned you).

check the links in my sig. to see some of the cutting edge stuff..

http://M66.rouse.com and http://M85.rouse.com are a couple goodies as well.

-awr

RoyJ

Enlightened
Thanks,

I've been browsing here for a while, so I know there're much better mods out there (some 400 - 500 lumens). However, I'm not really a flashaholic, I just want something for general camping / off-road expedition work.

The reason I want the radioshack holder is the obvious $2 versus $20 factor.