Keys?

yclo

Flashaholic*
I'm sure everyone here has keys of some sort, whether it's to the home, office, locker, whatever.

Who prefers the good old brass keys and who prefer the lighter alloy ones which are sometimes coloured too?

I just had a set of keys copied in the coloured alloy and it is very light, and now I don't have to try every key just to get the right one too since I have different colours.

-YC

B@rt

Flashaholic
I like the colored leightweight keys a lot, even though they don't last as long as a brass key.
( not a huge difference...
wink.gif
)

When you have several keys, the difference really is noticable...
grin.gif

The colors are a nice and handy feature too.
winkie.GIF

Dreck

Newly Enlightened
Warning! Those multi-colored keys can be a problem. I worked as a locksmith for over eight years. They are aluminium and they do not bend, they break immediately. Brass keys do bend without breaking. I remember having to extract numerous key pieces out of people's locks. If you use them. be careful not to bend them. Brass can be straightened and last much longer.

Monsters_Inc

Banned
Ummm.. is there a none of the above? My keys are neither brass nor coloured. And I'm not sure it's aluminium cos it's suffering a bit from corrosion. Then again, it could be due to exposure to seawater.

Dreck

Newly Enlightened
The best material to make keys out of is nickel-silver. Very durable and doesn't wear out the pins in the lock.

Albany Tom

Enlightened
I kinda like the heavy brass keys they use for commercial doors. They never break, and you can just open the door with them, without using the knob.

Color doesn't matter much to me. I go by shape.

hank

Flashlight Enthusiast
I put colored plastic covers on the brass keys, after learning that I should've been washing my hands after handling them and shouldn't have been allowed to play with brass keys as a child (sigh).
Or do I mean (duuuh ..).

http://caag.state.ca.us/newsalerts/2001/01-042.htm