Rcr123 question

Mudd Magnet

Newly Enlightened
Hey fellas I am new to rechargble batteries and I have some 3v rcr123 batteries for my new d-mini. I was wondering if it is detrimental to charge the batteries at the end of the day before I hit the sack type thing? They are not fully drained mayby have 10 minutes of runtime on them? Also how can I tell if my charger is dual channel? I have been using one cell charging them both and then using the other cell the next day. I think this is probably bad for them but I am not sure so I figured I would ask you fellas as I don't want to damage my new cells. but I do like having them both fully charged lol. I am planing to buy more cells in a week from aw so I can keep two with me and have two here charging. If ya'll can convince me to buy a better charger then I will probably do so If this one is not going to charge these cells right. It is a ultralast brand with two cells, It say's smart charger with auto shut-off and led battery indicater any ideas on how to verify if this will charge one at a time? or know to only charge the dead batterie and not overcharge the full one lol I am a newb to these rechargeble batteries thanks :candle:

LED61

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Mudd, I don´t know if you meant 3.6V RCR´s or if they are 3V Rcr´s, there are both. But, in any case the Li-Ion rechargeable chemistry loves to be charged frequently and there is no memory effect whatsoever. their shelf life is also lousy. that being the case, it makes perfect sense to recharge them once daily. Your batteries will run out of life because of calendar days rather than recharging cycles.

scott.cr

Flashlight Enthusiast
There was a link to a NASA paper about li-ion life on this site, but I can't find it at the moment.

In a nutshell, li-ions have the longest overall storage performance life when stored at 40% charge. So leaving them overnight slightly discharged should not negatively effect them.