NiMH Venting, How does this happen?

siklops

Newly Enlightened
C:%5CDocuments%20and%20Settings%5CLarry%5CDesktop
Pic 1

Pic 2

Forgive me, im relatively new at this. I just finished building my first Mag623, powered it up and ran for 4-5 minutes worked great. When i went to remove the batteries to check voltage the tube became suddenly very hot. I was able to get the tailcap off as smoke poured with some type of liquid. 6 batteries show no damage at all. The batteries in pic 1 show some leakage, but still have voltage at 1.312. The batteries in pic 2 are completely dead. The batteries are Elite 1700's 1 week old, all charged in the battery holder on a hyperion EOS0606i-AD @ 1.7c. Any help or information is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Last edited:

Aluminous

Enlightened
Re: NiMH Venting?

Pic 1 http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/204/img0382be9.th.jpg
Pic 2 http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/2449/img0381de0.th.jpg

Forgive me, im relatively new at this. I just finished building my first Mag623, powered it up and ran for 4-5 minutes worked great. When i went to remove the batteries to check voltage the tube became suddenly very hot. I was able to get the tailcap off as smoke poured with some type of liquid. 6 batteries show no damage at all. The batteries in pic 1 show some leakage, but still have voltage at 1.312. The batteries in pic 2 are completely dead. The batteries are Elite 1700's 1 week old, all charged in the battery holder on a hyperion EOS0606i-AD @ 1.7c. Any help or information is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Six damaged batteries in the photos, and 6 more that are undamaged, equals a total of 12 AA batteries... were these in four 3AA-to-1D adapters? and two of the triplets got messed up, while the other two triplets are undamaged?

siklops

Newly Enlightened