Problems with my D10

dwd2010

Newly Enlightened
First post. Had my D10 for several months. But as of today piston switch not working. Have to twist for on and off. Also noticed batteries (alkalines) not lasting very long. So I observed D10 more closely over last few weeks and noticed odd behaviour. For example before going to bed a very dim flicker could be seen at led. Then one night on way to bathroom I coincidentally notice my light come on by itself. Don't know if this has been reported before but did try a search before posting this. Any known issues and remedies?? thanks Dirk

Marlinaholic

Newly Enlightened
I am no expert, but take the piston system apart, clean everything with alcohol, then grease it with some sort of silicone based lube. If that doesn't work, contact 4Sevens as I believe they are the warranty guys for all Nitecore stuff. Might have to ship it back to them if its a problem with the electronics.

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic
There should be a gap or cut in the outer brass looking ring in the head. You see it during battery changes. I remember something about putting a knife tip or small screwdriver in the gap and widening it a bit.

I can't remember if that's the fix for your problem or a different issue entirely!
:oops:

dwd2010

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for replies.

Sgt Led, do have that brass ring---but gapping it more didn't do anything.

Marlinaholic, will try cleaning before contacting 4sevens. Just don't want to be without this beautiful light. I use it daily in attics and under houses as the local "Cable Guy"

brucec

Enlightened
Pretty much all of the Nitecore PD's need a good cleaning and relubing. The flickering is from some kind of electronics bug and luck of the draw. They issued a newer version which has 4-5 big black IC chips visible on the back, vs 1-2 for the older version. That supposedly fixes the flickering problem, but I only have the older style with no flickering so I cannot confirm.