Some help putting together my own lights

Underwhere

Newly Enlightened
First of all I am a complete newbie. I tried the search function and it doesn't seem to be working.

I am thinking I'll put together some lights this year for xmas gifts. Maybe 10 lights total. All the same.

I don't know what parts I need, terminology, what works with what etc etc. Basically I don't know anything except for what I want the end result to be.

If you guys could offer some sort of help or guidance it'd be appreciated.

The end product:
Powered by a single CR123A
glow in the dark rubber cap
glow in the dark o-ring in the front
maybe a cree Q5 or R2. I'm not sure which is better. Open to suggestions.
I'd like a 5 modes: High, med, low, strobe, SOS. I'm not sure what device does this though.
I'd like a clip of some sort, or a non-round body so it doesn't roll.

My brother bought a new Fenix PD20 and I like it. I'd just like the experience of making my own and customizing it a bit.

Advice?

JBorneu

Enlightened
Putting together lights takes more knowledge than it may seem. You need:
-An LED (duuh)
-A body
-A reflector or an optic to make a nice beam
-Some cirquitry to make mode-switching and regulation possible
-A cell
-And, if you run your LED's at more than 1watt they need to be heatsinked (thermally connected to the metal boy of the light to cool them down, like the CPU of a PC) or they will burn out.