Corn Maze After Dark!

mwaldron

Enlightened
So corn maze eh? I've been hearing about them for a couple years but never really got around to checking into the concept. It sounded like good cheap fun though so last night my gf and I decided to go check it out.

For those of you who have never heard of it before (somehow I suspect it's localized to the midwest) it's a cornfield planted like an old Victorian hedge maze. The corn grows to be about 8' tall and fairly thick (It's also fairly sharp. I think the guys over on Bladeforums need to look into corn leaves as an organic substitute for S30V). The maze we went to last night covered approximately 15 acres. From what I understand, each maze has an objective, when we gave over our $5 we were given a piece of paper with about 25 symbols around the perimeter. Each symbol had a corresponding hole puncher located somewhere in the maze, and the objective was to find each punch and punch the corresponding hole on your slip.

I called the people who ran it earlier in the day and explained I had never been to a corn maze before. They advised me to prepare for the weather, wear old comfortable shows and an old jacket. They also suggested a flashlight if I was going to come at night :twothumbs. During our conversation they also mentioned that the fastest this year's had been completed was just over 1 hour.

I spent all day thinking about what I might need to take with me. Need (ok, ok, WANT) Flashlight, GPS (yes, it's probably cheating but I'm a geek...), HT, Boots, Jacket. I wanted to take my M6, but requiring over 1 hour of runtime made that prohibitive. Since the M6 is just totally impractical, I charged up my 17670's popped in the MN61 and took it anyway (less current draw than WA1185). I've been using an MN61 since before I knew it was supposed to insta-flash thus in typical 80's cartoon fashion mine works just fine even though I can't even get a WA1331 to work :thinking:.