Questions/discussion regarding the focus feature of a LED based flashlight

Zflashlight

Newly Enlightened
As i'm new to the whole flashlight discussion, and severely limited when it comes to electronics, optics and so on, please correct me when i'm wrong.
And i don't own a Led Lenser, so i'm basing my assumptions on a flashlight i have that i think uses the same main principles when it comes to the focus feature.

As i see it, the Minimag AA incan can "focus" because the bulb is elevated relative to the bottom of the reflector. When i turn it on, it produces a floody beam (or i would if he bulb produced light evenly), because it's closer to the lens, having a bigger angle to light. Light still hits the reflector, but not as much as when i unscrew the head.
As i unscrew the head, the head moves out and the bulb's relative position is lower. When it is at the lowest position (but still lighting forward and to the reflector, not behind it), it becomes 'throwy', since more light is hitting the reflector and going 'straight' out.

Compared to a Minimag LED, the difference becomes obvious. The LED is already at the bottom before i even turn it on. The reflector is different probably to compensate this fact, having a bigger hole, but obviously doesn't mimic the original Minimag incan effect.

From this my question is:
Is it impossible to raise the LED to a position closer to the incan one?
If yes, or just difficult, is it because of heat-sinking, circuit attached to the LED, both?

I'm thinking that this is probably why Led Lensers and the like use an aspherical lens - an actual lens rather than just something protecting the led/bulb. A standard reflector would block too much light.
Like using a magnifying glass in front of a normal flashlight, the light is focused to a smaller area, producing more light in said area. Moving the magnifying glass farther or closer changes the focus.