Where to put my hands on a light?

fields_mj

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking around for my first EDC. I think that my choice is going to be a Quark AA and a couple of AW 14500s, but I'd really like to put my hands one one before I take the plung so that I can get a better idea of what it really is, but as near as I can tell if you want a 4sevens light, you buy it directly from them. I can't drive to Indianapolis and find a dealer/distributor to take a better look at them. Any suggestions?

Here's what I own, or have owned. Older Scorpions, an older Pelican, and an Ultra Stinger that I use around the house, as well as a TL2 mounted on my AR for keeping varmits out of the yard at night (I love living in the country) and a TL3 in the truck.

Here's a little about me: I work as a manufactuing engineer in a molding/assembly plant. I work with maintenace a lot. At home I work on my vehicles, work on the house, hunt, fish, and on occation I work as a firearms instructor at a local firing range.

Here's what I'd like a light to do: I'm looking for a light that is bright enough to penetrate and allow me (or my wife) to see inside a vehicle with tented windows in a parking lot at night (wife is a night shift nurse). I want the light to be able to put out a beam wide enough to light up a 4' area at my feet like it was noon so that I can use it when I'm traking my neighbors wounded deer. After 15 years, I've given up on teaching them how to shoot. I'd also like to be able to shine the light 25 feet up onto a robot to get a better look at something that's in a shadow. I'm usually looking up at mercury lighting wich makes a person squint pretty bad, and consequently anything that's in a shadow might as well be painted flat black.