is cree the only guy in town?

wa5ngp

Newly Enlightened
newbie here. sifting thru all the data. It seems like Cree is the only guy in town making high power individual LEDs suitable for throwers. Everything seems to be an XML something. All others are just bunches of 3W leds mounted on a PCBoard.

Tell me I'm wrong someone with a pointer to list of competitors.

don

cyclesport

Enlightened
newbie here. sifting thru all the data. It seems like Cree is the only guy in town making high power individual LEDs suitable for throwers. Everything seems to be an XML something. All others are just bunches of 3W leds mounted on a PCBoard.

Tell me I'm wrong someone with a pointer to list of competitors.

don

Couple of good places to start...

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb...sed-LED-Emitter-Index&highlight=led+evolution

http://www.gearcarrot.com/guides/lights/?p=toc

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Cree's LEDs are one of the most common ones. but far from the only one. Other LEDs used in lights are the Osram Golden Dragon, Luxeon Rebel, Seoul P4, and Nichia 219 series.

Cree does seem to have the best lumen/watt though for their top end stuff.

AnAppleSnail

Flashlight Enthusiast
Who's making that round-die LED?

Anyway, LED manufacture is HARD. HHAAAAAARRRRRDDDDDDD. From the moment you've produced silicon wafers for the diode, the quality of that product determines your efficiency. Your efficiency determines rated current, heat load, and these directly relate to achievable surface brightness. After doing a "good enough" (With the upper limit being almost twice as efficient as 'standard,') Cree creates its brightness bins of blue dies. Many of these are used in white LEDs, the super-performers are studied to find out why they're so good. The white LEDs have exactly-right phosphors put on.