Cutting/Trimming noctigon

Double Barrel

Enlightened
Hello, I am just getting into the modding side of our hobby. Currently working on a novatac 120 edc. I am looking at my options for LEDs and how I want to mount it. My question is if I had a 16mm XP noctigon, can I cut it down parallel to the + & - connection pads? Possibly up to maybe even including the + & - symbols of the board, leaving just the center section of the pad with connection points intact, of course.

pe7e5uzy.jpg

bushwhacked

Newly Enlightened
Absolutely. If you happen to expose the + or - traces just make sure they don't come into contact with anything. You could even cut the traces too, just take off the top layer, again watch for shorts. Test for continuity between the star and + - as you get very close.

Double Barrel

Enlightened
Absolutely. If you happen to expose the + or - traces just make sure they don't come into contact with anything. You could even cut the traces too, just take off the top layer, again watch for shorts. Test for continuity between the star and + - as you get very close.

Awesome! Thank you. I wanted to be sure. Just from looking at it, I couldn't see any reason I couldn't. Just wasn't sure there wasn't anything hiding inside that wasn't as obvious as the "traces" .. I didn't know the technical name for that part of it.

Double Barrel

Enlightened
Ok.. Well, I'm afraid to try to reflow one. I've never attempted an led swap, much less mount one myself to an mcpcb. I'd much rather have a pro do that for me.
I think I'll take my chances and try to protect the led somehow. Tape a lid or something over it?

bushwhacked

Newly Enlightened