Options/Recommendations for a "bigger" light

akula88

Enlightened
Options/Recommendations for a \"bigger\" light

Hi all,

I have a PR-T/DB917, Surefire 9N and SF Z3 . I am still looking for a larger light that has better throw and large hotspot than the above. I prefer this as LS-LED.

What would be my options -- either factory/garage manufactured or modded? I would need at least 100mtr solid throw with relatively good sidespills. I have no experience for the turbo versions of my SF. I'm also looking at SF L6. I don't like the size of a 3D Mag but Inretech 3x3 looks good. Also Hyperlumen's Tristar3x3.

What do you recommend?

Josey

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Options/Recommendations for a \"bigger\" light

I don't know about the others, but 100 meters is a stretch for the L6, which is my favorite light.

rhinobalsa

Newly Enlightened

Electrolumens tristar. The new one to come out soon will be either 3 or 4 c cells with (3) 1 watt or 3 watt led's. I've got money put aside for the 4 cell 3 x 3.
Gary

paulr

Flashaholic

I think LED lights just aren't in that class yet. The one that comes closest would be the Space Needle II. Otherwise, try something like a Tigerlight.

Double_A

Flashlight Enthusiast

I agree with paulr, I don't think we're there yet.

While understand the Space Needle may meet your requirements it's my understanding this light was an experimental light and pretty much unobtainable. If I'm wrong I'm sure I will be quickly corrected.

Regardless, if you are interested in a production light look at Electolumens models. I believe the Tri-star's output is around 200 lumens, HOWEVER, while the light output is very good that doesn't mean it's throw is anyway comparible to a highly focused incandescent.

GregR

kakster

Flashlight Enthusiast

This will give you close to what you are looking for:
SRTH.jpg

More details here