Luxeon Desk Lamps

deano

Newly Enlightened
Hi this is Dean I would like to first start off by saying what a fantastic forum this is. I am a lighting designer and I want to bring out a new series of task lights (desk lamps) and the style is going to be ultra modern. I believe the lumileds LED's would make a great choice for their compact size and light output. So I will get right to the point; I am concerned about light quality, will one 1 watt luxeon be sufficient? Or will the Luxeon lll be better? Is the white really white , or should I consider the new warm white Luxeon? I am sorry that these questions sound elementary but I need as much feedback and information as I can get, so I can get this project off the ground. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif

OddOne

Enlightened
For me with my bad eyes, I'd need a Luxeon III for enough light to be practically usable in a desklamp application.

oO

idleprocess

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, deano.

All the white luxeon emitters I have ever seen (nowhere near as many as many of the regulars) have a good, relatively neutral white to them - unlike commodity white LEDs, which almost always have a visible blue tint and hotspot. It seems that the tint variations amongst luxeons are relatively minor relative to commodity LEDs. Any decent white luxeon will put out white light similar to a florescent tube.

I understand that Luxeon IIIs have much less tint variation than 1-watt emitters.

Ah, here comes the point where I offer armchair advice (sort of) to the light designer... I've evaluated LEDs to replace the florescent tubes in my company's interior architectural lighting applications. Regrettably, I couldn't justify the concept 12 months ago, but perhaps that will change as high-power LEDs get cheaper and more readily available.