New to light

LiteBuLB

Newly Enlightened
hello guys, i am new to the world of flash lights. however, i am interested in getting 1. i heard alot about surefire and so, i would like to gather info from users here.

i would want a torch with the ability to BLIND, say a robber long enough that i could kick him in his @@@ and get away from him. battery life is not a factor for me. i have read alot regarding the E2E model. i love the form factor of it as it is not too big of a size. but has it got the power to fulfill the blinding features? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Cornkid

Flashlight Enthusiast
What you need to know is that to 'blind' someone you need to be an a dark area with a light of about 60 lumens.

If you were outside, at night, with an e2e... yes you would probably temporarily blind him. I would not run up to him though. It is NOT an attack weapon. You'll get yourself killed.

-tom

MrBenchmark

Enlightened
The E2D is designed to be used as a last-ditch weapon, in addition to momentarily dazzling an attacker. Pepper-spray is probably something else you should consider. I'm no expert, but I think a flashlight can at best give you only a momentary advantage. Still, a moment to start running or pull out some other method of self defense could be a life-saver sometimes. FWIW, I'm trying to work out what to do here myself. I'm not really counting on my flashlight to be my first line of defense, though.

kessler

Newly Enlightened
Me too!
As in, this it exactly the thread I would like to have started.

My wife and I just moved to the burbs (sort of) from NYC and she takes the train to work everyday. I pick her up at night by walking 5 minutes through a park, but there are no lamp posts. People in our complex say they wouldn't walk through the park at night, but I have yet to see anyone or anything I would even consider the least bit dangerous.