Advice on General Purpose Light -Surefire A2 or L2

Victor_Hooi

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

Okay, I need some advice - I've spend a few hours (yes, hours) reading through the posts here, and people seem very knowledgeable (maybe too knowledgeable...kinda scary).

I need a general purpose light for around the house, backyard, for emergencies and also when travelling. It would also be nice if it had a 'cool' factor - I have a thing for ecsoteric gadgets (eg A2 is, by my definition, 'cool' hehehe).

At the moment, I'm looking at the Surefire L2, and the Surefire A2 - the A2 looks pretty cool, and it would be perfect (at least I think so, although as I said, I'm rather new to flashaholica *grin*), if the incan. was brighter, like say 100 lumens. Is there any way to mod it, or something?

The L2 is ok - except even at the 100 lumens, I'm worried that the throw and power won't be as good as if it was an incand. Plus, the dual-modes of the A2 is cool.

Also, are the Led's on the A2 easily interchangeable (the different leds are part of the coolness for me - maybe I'm weird /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif) - what colour would you recommend?

This is my first flashlight (well, yes, I have a Mag, but I don't think that counts) - I'm hoping it'll be the last (or at least my wallet is), but I have a feeling not...*sigh*.

Also, the Surefire U2 is totally cool - but $270? Definitely out of my budget.

Thanks,
Victor

StoneDog

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Victor and welcome!