Arc LS question

nicholas1986

Newly Enlightened
Hi i am new to CPF and also new to all these flashlight
i am intending to get the Arc LS but after reading the previous posts, i realise that there are many models for this light (hybrid) etc. i want to know is that which is the lastest one and is there a way (eg box) to determine if the seller sells you the model that is the lastest....
btw which Arc ls is the best?

sunspot

Flashlight Enthusiast
As of now, the hybrid is the latest and greatest. The hybrid has current regulation as opposed to voltage regulation. I believe it is called hybrid is that the new circuit was for the 5w (LS2) that is delayed so Arc put it in a LS1.
Welcome to CPF and hang on to your wallet (not possible).

JollyRoger

Enlightened
If I were you, I would get either the Hybrid (if you want one right this instant), or the ARC LS2, which should be out by the end of the month. The LS2 will have the revised electronics, smaller and water tight housing, and a nice-colored high dome 1W luxeon emitter inside. It will also come with some accessories/goodies.
The LS3 is probably still going to be a while, since 5W's aren't even being produced in large numbers and with consistent quality.

Charles Bradshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
Current model is the LS1 Rev2: low dome emitter w/NX05 optics, revision 2 circuit and body. It is rated waterproof to 50 feet. This is the last of the LS1 series. The next model out, will be the LS2, which is rev2 circuit and housing, and the high dome emitter. After that, is the LS3: 5 watt emitter and more of a flood.

The hybrids ran at 500 Milliamps, and the current version runs at 400 MA.

Welcome to CPF.

Sean

Flashlight Enthusiast
This chart should help:

ImageServer.psp

Low dome (batwing) LS (old version) has a different radiation pattern than the new high dome LS. High domes are also suppose to be brighter and have a tighter beam than low domes.

Original LS's ran at 300mA.