Attention Motorcycle riders!! Need opinions.......

LaserFreak

Enlightened
Ok. I've been riding a small 49cc scooter for the last 6 or 7 months now and am enjoying it a lot. I'm thinking of moving up to a real motorcycle.

I want something that looks sporty, but something that is a good beginner bike, and not so fast that I break my neck first time out.

I'm seeing a lot of seemingly good deals on Ebay, but I have no clue what I should get...can anyone provide some suggestions?

Gliderguy

Newly Enlightened
I would be REALLY careful about trying to pick up a bike off of E-bay unless you are really mechanically inclined, or know someone you trust to go over the bike in person with you. Motorcycles have their own set of peculiar potential problems that are not always obvious on a quick test drive.

I don't have enough info to give you one or two really good recommendations, but with a few comments here are a few bikes that are considered reasonable for beginners:

If you are wanting a sportbike consider a 250 or 500 Kawasaki Ninja. They are relatively cheap used, and not so overpowerful that you put yourself at extreme risk. If you are over 6ft tall they may be a bit too small framed for you. If you like offroading you could also consider a 250 to 400 cc dual purpose bike. (but not if you have a fairly short inseam, dual purpose bikes have seat heights of 32 inches and up) Slightly bigger in engine size but in the middle in seat height is the Suzuki SV 650 which is a great bike that you probably would not outgrow anytime soon.

feel free to PM me or post more details such as your height, what kind of riding you want to do (just cruising around town, long trips, offroad, sport riding, ect) and what kind of budget you have in mind.