G&P Luxeon III LED P60 (Surefire) drop-in for G2

LEDmaglite

Newly Enlightened
I would like to hear some feedback from others that have tried this LED.

http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/gp_p60lux3.htm

I'm looking at putting one in a surefire G2 for a work light.

I have a old style G2 and see surefire now has the G2 with a LOTC. I have one of the new G2's on order and I'm really close to ordering a LED drop-in for it now.

Are they any good?

dougmccoy

Enlightened
Re: G&P Luxeon III LED P60 (Surefire) drop-in for

I have a G2 and a G2z, both with the Lux 3 LED modules installed in. For my money they make both the above lights into solid workhorses and IMHO are more than worth the investment. Runtime is increased by about 100% with the LED's down to approximately 50% output after 2 hours. They may produce light for up to 4 hours but as I never like using my lights at less than 50% I have no experience of this. In both my examples the beam/tint and colour are top notch. Compared to the incandescent lamps the output appears to be approximately 40-50% down but is compensated by the increased runtime and the fact that you are unlikely to replace the LED module due to failure.

In use the heat from the LED module is well below the temperature that the P60 lamps produce and although the bezels become very warm they dont get as hot as the incandescent lamps. With a beam diffuser the above lights both become hand held flood lights.

Providing you dont get a dud (and if you do they will probably die in the first few minutes of use)then I think you will be very happy with this module.

Doug

LEDmaglite

Newly Enlightened

Doug,
You talked me into it, /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
I just placed a order for one.
I have never ordered from BugOutGearUSA.com before. I hope they are fast. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

If they work like I hope I may have to get a surefire p6 again. I had a P6 I used for work and everytime I dropped it the bulb went out.