UPGRADE AN INCANDESCANT BULB TO LED??

jpfaff

Newly Enlightened
I have a pr12 bulb for a railroad lantern. Does anybody know of a drop in led bulb or a place to cross reference???

Thanx Jason

Hoghead

Flashaholic*
jpfaff,

Any LED that will work in a 4D or 4C light that uses a PR base will work in your lantern.

The reflector is very shallow in the railroad lanters. I think a high dome would be preferable to a side emitter.

Pocket Lights has some that will fit. I'm not sure if they are high dome or side emitters.
http://www.pocketlights.com/ledbulbs_for_maglite.asp

edit: Please let us know what you get and how satisfied you are with it. I'm a Engineer and some of the trainmen I work with would like to improve their lanterns. They are much more interested in increasing brightness and throw than they are with runtime. They get their batteries for free.

Make sure of polarity of your lantern. It doesn't matter with incandescent bulbs, but LEDs will let out the magic smoke if the polarity is wrong.

Last edited:

jpfaff

Newly Enlightened
Thanx Hoghead,

I'm a carmen and the light output sucks? You would think the railroad would provide the best possible light sources for their employees to do their job. So, thanx again. Also, what about the amperage of a 6v lantern battery as opposed to 4 d cell batteries, anything to worry about?

Jason

Last edited:

Hoghead

Flashaholic*
jpfaff said:
Thanx Hoghead,

I'm a carmen and the light output sucks? You would think the railroad would provide the best possible light sources for their employees to do their job. So, thanx again.

Jason

The carman's lantern is better than the trainmens lantern. It has a much larger reflector. Are you refering to the metal lantern with a blue body and a facited lens?