AE Xenide 25

Danielsuzuki

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newb, so bear with me. I am considering the purchase of my first HID. I have settled on AE, and am curious as to a couple of things...

1. what is the difference (other than the battery and waterproofing of same) between the xenide 25 and the class 1 of the same?

2. have any of you used the so called high output bulb, and is it of a different color rating?

3. what is the runtime of said high output bulb?

I love my surefire c3, just looking for a great quality light with a bit more punch... ;)

Daniel

AEHaas

Newly Enlightened
You have to unscrew the battery for charging on the explosion proof version. With a run time of over 2 hours though it is not a problem for me. It is my safety light. If there is a gas leak or a dusty environment with an explosion hazard there are few choices.
The higher output bulb has a slight green tint, not a bother. The battery time is the same. But the difference in lumens is not that big.
It is a must have HID in my collection.

aehaas

dudemar

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi DanielSuzuki,

:welcome:

1. You pretty much answered your own question there, it means it's rated for explosive environments. The battery is waterproof, so you're going to have to use the charging stand (which I believe comes with the Class 1).

2. As soon as I get the money I am going to post a review of this bulb. According to the website it's supposed to have a greenish tint.

3. Runtime should be less than the stock bulb. The bulb is driven harder so there is likely a compromise. I'll contact Marc from AE Light to check.

Danielsuzuki

Newly Enlightened
Thanks loads for the info! The wifes gonna kill me... Been here snooping around for a few days. Great information on lights I never dreamed of! It's a whole new (very expensive) world.

Daniel

Danielsuzuki

Newly Enlightened