complete newbie with some questions before i start

Diver Richie

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks, I am totally new to DIY flash lights, i want to make a flash light that i can use for diving, i want an umbilical type lamp so i can strap my battery unit to my cylinders and either mount the head onto my helmet or wrist. i dive in low visibility conditions and during the evenings.

i want to try and make something for a change, i am an experienced machinist / turner but have no experience with CREE led systems etc etc.

i need a light that is powerful but don't want the the beam too concentrated (i think i can sort that issue out with the type of lens / diffuser i fit to the head casing)

can anyone advise what chip / driver (if its called that) i should go for ? i have surfed the web and have otherwise got myself confused.

typical dives last 45 minutes unless i am on a deco hang, at which point the dive can extend from 45 minutes to 4 hours, the water i dive in is cold (north sea) so may help cooling the unit down etc etc. 99% of my dives are in and around shipwrecks.

i intend to make the head out of machined T6 aluminium which i will anodise, the battery can i have lined up is made from stainless steel.

any help, advice, pointers you can give would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Richie

archimedes

Flashaholic
Hello and welcome to CPF

You have started your thread in a perfectly fine location, and it sounds like an ambitious goal.

Diving lights can be rather specialized however, and it is possible that you may get more focused attention from those expert in that particular environment from our Dive Lighting section.

If or when you would like your thread moved, please just let staff know (instead of creating an overlapping or duplicate thread)

Thanks, and best of luck with your project !

DrafterDan

Flashlight Enthusiast