Disaster Light for Emergency workers

medicjim

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks... I'm a veteran firefighter / medic nearing retirement and looking for a little advice. I've been asked to design a kit that each rookie firefighter will be issued to get them through a 3 day op where NO support or resupply will occur. Imagine an engine crew responding to a collapsed structure in the middle of a large event like an earthquake or major storm... 5 crew to do what they can with an overwhelming localized site... no power, no food or water...no help at all.

The kit will be cost constrained (say maybe $250 each kit) and obviously weight is a factor. What would be a good solution for lighting for the three overnights? Assume at least 2/3 of the night will be active operations (3 days x 10 hour night x .6666 = 20 hours runtime at the absolute minimum).

Many of us already have the streamlight survivor LED lights with 4 x AA battery setups... this light offers a moonlight mode that can achieve this duration, but lighting is minimal and I'm exploring options... anxious to hear your expert input.

Thanks!

Jim

Olumin

Flashlight Enthusiast
Something like the peli 3315 gives you well over 100 lumens for about 20 hours (rated 19 hours on their website). Runs on 3x AA and not too expensive and heavy. Hi vis too. Id say its ideal? In your situation I would imagine something simple is best. on/off. I havent seen a runtime test of this light so I dont know if it just cuts off after 19 hours or if there is some taper of if the claimed runtime includes the taper. I dont think its gonna stay at 130 lumens for 19 hours. 3 Spare AAs are easy to carry if need be.

bykfixer

Flashaholic
The candella of the light would be pretty important for best reach with the least output. And definitely a backup light should be considered. The higher the candella number the better it throws light forward.