How hard is it to update the VIP?

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
How hard is it to put a new LED in the Mr. Bulk VIP light? I have done some soldering but I have never done a LED. Are the new LEDs very heat sensitive? For the VIP do you just unsolder the old Luxeon and solder in the new LED? Do I need to worry about Vf? Other things to worry about?

Just wondering if it is worth the effort. Right now it doesn't get any use as I use my L2D light for most tasks.

Thanks for the help.

Bogus1

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm no expert, but the Vf on LEDs in general has dropped (improved) since these were built and that should just mean better run time.

I haven't done one but a Seoul should work as these were driven at 750mA I believe (some boards were to 1000mA). However the focus might be off a bit. The new K2s might be a better fit, but at the drive levels of the VIP the Seoul would likely be brighter IMO. One of the main issues is the LED being centered.

You could go with a Cree (I guess) if you used one our TnC 27mm heads as these heads are interchangeable with the VIPs. They look pretty good on them as well.

I still like the VIPs for a number of reasons. For me the knurled bands are great for attachment with straps such as on a bike. Also changing levels on a bike with the side switch is better IMO than most other solutions for this.

glockboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just swap the luxeon with the seoul, vf is no problem because the VIP cannot used rcr-123, only cr-123.
Just add a shim under the seoul to make it higher to better focus.

Flashlight Enthusiast
I see you live in Socal, LED's aren't hard to solder especially if they are on stars, but if you want I can replace it for you if you supply the parts.

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast