Laser Rating Confusion

VegasSteve777

Newly Enlightened
Maybe someone can help me with a question or 3 regarding lasers....

I'm BRAND NEW to lasers, (love my flash lights, and purchase a new light about every 8 to 12 weeks) and after purchasing a very cheap laser pointer/led flashlight/writing pen combination, the distance thrown from this $2.99 pen really intrigued me....

What I do not understand thus far is the following:

#1. "DEAL EXTRMEME" Sells a 2OOmW (TWO HUNDRED mW) Green Laser for $12O...In the specs. it states that is has a range of 6,OOO ft....

#2. "DESTRUCTIVE GEAR" Sells a 1OOmW (ONLY ONE HUNDRED mW) for $37O, but it states that it has a range of 6O (SIXTY) MILES!!!

What is the dealio there?? I'm thinking of grabbing a good laser to mess with, and when I saw the 2OOmW laser offered from Deal Extreme for $1OO+, I was sold until further shopping seeing that the 1OOmW laser from Destructive can shoot a beam SIXTY MILES????

Lastly......Being brand new to lasers, I don't want to ruin my eyes....I've seen warnings stating that you can't look at the laser, and naturally not to point it into the eyes of another....

Does this mean that you must have eyewear, even if you're simply holding the laser in front of you and pointing it at the sky, for example?? Would visually observing the beam into the sky hurt your eyes?? OR is the warning for the obvious, which would be not to look directly into the beam from the front of the device??.......

Lastly.... Any one know of some affordable glasses for protection that doesn't cost $1OO??

Thanks to the brave sole that attempts to answer even one of these questions!!

~Steve ~ :thanks: Las Vegas NV

Last edited:

stevetexas

Newly Enlightened