Nitecore MH12v2 for trail walking/emergencies

WYlightGUY

Newly Enlightened
I am a novice light aficionado, having a couple original Quarks, Zebralights, and one MDC 2A.

I am looking for another light to carry when out walking in the rural/suburban area where I live. I have been surprised by animals (coyote, fox, raccoon and something bigger I could not ID) and homeless folks camping in tree lines and culverts. I would like a torch that is 90% of the time a great trail illuminator (which I suppose means more floody than throwy), but have the ability to ID objects at distance/blind surprise attackers. Something having the ability to swap between a few levels, (like a mid/low for walking and a high for emergencies) would be perfect.

I asked about Malkoff and Elzetta models in a different thread, and was recommended to look at the HoundDog/WildCat or Bravo/Charlie AVS options. Those are nice, but quite expensive. The Emisar D4 line was also suggested. It is cheaper, but seems to get "hot" quickly. That is not something I favor.

So...I just came across this Nitecore which looks to have excellent power and the ability to charge internally. If anyone owns this torch, please share your experience as I would like to know if it fits my purposes better than these other options. Thank you.

3_gun

Enlightened