Problems with IKEA LADDA 900mAh AAA batteries

SigmaTheDJ

Newly Enlightened
HI,

I've been using IKEA LADDA batteries for around 3 years now. I am having an issue with the AAA versions. They're the white 900mAh ones, which I believe are discontinued now.

I'm using an XTAR VP4 Plus Dragon charger. When I try and charge LADDA AAAs, what often happens is either the charger will say a battery is fully charged after just a few minutes on charge, or it will just keep charging a battery forever and it never stops automatically, which can lead to it getting quite hot. If it says the battery is fully charged prematurely, if I take it out and put it back in again, it will start to charge again. Sometimes I have to do that a few times and eventually it will fully charge. I'm charging at 0.5A, which is the lowest my charger goes.

I'm having no issues with my AA LADDAs. Just the AAAs.

Rechargeable AAAs are only cheap, so replacing them is obviously no problem, but I'm just wondering if what I'm seeing is a sign of the batteries reaching their end of life, or whether something else is happening, e.g. a faulty charger.

Thanks for any insight you can give.

chillinn

Flashlight Enthusiast
which can lead to it getting quite hot.

There are a few things that can damage a cell, which increases internal resistance in the cell, reduces capacity and current output. Overcharging is one way, slamming a full cell with current or voltage will cause it to heat up, and heat damages a cell. A smart charger should be able to mitigate any overcharging, as long as you're not charging at too low a current, as this can lead to missing termination because the cell will heat up too slowly as capacity becomes full. dV/dT is how smart chargers determine charge termination, so it needs to see a rapid increase in temperature to know to terminate charge.