Surefire lamps on LiFePO4

chillinn

Flashlight Enthusiast
Not much fear underdriving 2xCR123A "6V" lamps like MN03 or P60 on one Li-ion 3.6V or 3.7V. Many times it's ok to drive "9V" lamps on 2x Li-ion.

Everyone seems to use 3.2V LiFePO4 (RCR123A) as a direct replacement for CR123A in LED lights.

But does this translate well to incan bulbs?

I would expect MN01 to flash on one LiFePO4 cell. Maybe it would work a short time overdriven before dying. Expect, but don't know.

I have no experience experimenting with P60, P61, P90, P91 and battery chemistry. But I have a precious few R30 on the way that were very difficult to find and outrageously expensive. I'll probably underdrive one on 2xNiMH without fear. But I'd like to dedicate one to run in a KDLitker E6-21700 (that I don't have yet) on a single Generic IFR21700 3.2V 9A 3000mAh (also don't yet have), and I am very very concerned it'll flash or just won't last.

Compared to CR123A, LiFePO4 give way more current with way less voltage sag, but more importantly, even well rested they have slightly more voltage than a new and unused CR123A. P60 aren't hard to find, so I wouldn't mind experimenting on one with 2x LiFePO4, but R30 will be very difficult to replace.

Does anyone know for certain? Has anyone used LiFePO4 cells on Surefire lamps in the last decade or so? I need some old CPF members with experience.

Megalamuffin

Enlightened
Surefire specifically says about their lifep04 cells that the initial higher voltage can burn out the lamp. Not worth the risk trying to me since all those old lamps are getting more pricey.

I did some testing with the keeppower 3v output rcr123's and they were giving great results in a p60. That p60 flashed on me recently and I think those 3v cells greatly shortened its life. They drive the bulb at max voltage until the batteries run out, unlike 123's that drop in voltage over time.

chillinn

Flashlight Enthusiast