12v dc Cree xre q5 and drivers?

Paul Baldwin

Enlightened
Cree xr-e Q5 Homelighting retrofit.

Hi :)
I'm a noob who's interested in making up an led light setup that could be solar powered ultimately hence the 12v+ need.
I'm thinking of using these http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2394 probably 3 at a time at 350ma but I'd like the option to use them at 700ma or thereabouts if I need more light. I'm not really interested at running them above as it seems heat is a major issue for not a lot more light output?
I've found these http://www.luxeonstar.com/buckpuck-1000ma-dc-led-driver-pcb-mount-p-8.php and they seem to do evertything I want but at $20+ with postage and import duty the cost will soon mount up.
Does anyone know if these are any good?
I've also come across these http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13557 and http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13555 could I use 3x1 watt in series and still get the 350ma output? As space isnt an issue I thought I could double up on these with a 2 way switch controlling them allowing the 2 light settings I want?
I've also come across this thread https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/201392&highlight=buckpuck which looks like a good low cost alternative if there are any equivalent drivers that work at 12 volts?
I've also just found this one http://www.cutter.com.au/proddetail.php?prod=cut793 which looks like a good piece of kit.
I'm in the UK so postage, customs is a bit of an issue and my budget is very limited :broke: so any advice would be appreciated :) I know how to use a soldering iron and have a very basic knowledge of electronics but havent got a clue when it comes to all the calculations etc :oops:

Paul.

Ps Sorry for such a long first post!

Last edited:

SafetyBob

Enlightened
Before we can really advise you on your picks, tell us how you want to use these leds and where in your home/property.

Your goal being a noob is ease of assembly, ease of availability, and low cost.