Can you see the beam of your blu ray laser?

iemand

Newly Enlightened
...the beam of your blu ray laser outside in open air at night?

If so, what mW's is your laser?

Would a 20mW blu ray beam be visible?

allthatwhichis

Enlightened
Re: Can you see...

My 100mW shows up fairly well, but I am in Florida and the humidity is higher than average here.
icon6.gif

Cowley

Newly Enlightened

Let me preface my comments by stating I'm very new to high performance lasers, but have been "playing" with a low-power greenie for several years. I recently acquired a blu-ray that exceeds 200mW and on a cool, crisp, low humidity night (good seeing) it won't come close to emitting the visible beam put out by my green 120mW. Both were constructed by Jayrob so they are good quality builds and I trust the numbers. I'm into astronomy also and I don't think the blu-ray is going to perform the way you want in an astronomy setting. Just my two cents and good luck.

iemand

Newly Enlightened

Cowley, I understand you can't compare a 200mW bluray beam to that of a 120mW green, but what if you would compare it to a 5mW green?

Cowley

Newly Enlightened

Cowley, I understand you can't compare a 200mW bluray beam to that of a 120mW green, but what if you would compare it to a 5mW green?

I havn't done a side by side comparison, but if I remember the green 5mW beam shaft accurately, it will strongly out perform the blu-ray. If I get some time this evening I will do a comparison and get back with you.

allthatwhichis

Enlightened
You have a 200mW blu-ray handheld? :eek: Have you seen it measured? Just curious. 200mW seems a bit high unless it is fairly over driven. I am not an expert, but I thought the 6x... maybe it was 4x, that are good for 100mW at 90 to 100mA. I think mine is at 90 and measured 100mW. I'd like to know what diode that is. I plan to combine two to put in the projector. :cool:

Cowley

Newly Enlightened