CR2's and charging

dagored

Enlightened
I am venturing into the smaller lite area. CR2. I have purchased a JIL CR2 Ti for my birthday. Now, fuel for the lite.

I have searched the forums and nothing found with a definite answer.

On my own, I have come up with the following and would like some of the veteran people to chime in.

First I looked at Lighthound, of course, and found the following:
http://www.lighthound.com/Ultrafire-36-volt-or-3-volt-RCR123-Lithium-Battery-Charger_p_2270.html

Would that do RCR2's with a spacer? Like these:

http://www.atbatt.com/product/19947.asp

It apparently can be switched to 3V.

Limited to 3V according to Warren and that is what the lite is rated.

Should I just stick to primaries?

malow

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie entering on cr2 rechargeable also.

i will also using a "3v charger" with magnets for charging.

example here

2 things to look for is a battery with "native" nominal 3.0v (max 3.6v/3,7v), and if the charger does not have a current higher than 1C*.

i will use on "very-low power" devices, i don't "need" in fact cr2 rechargeable's, but i will do because i can ;)

what is the maximum voltage of JIL CR2 Ti? primary CR2 came with 3.2v, RCR2 should be right after charge 3.6v/3.7v

just my noob 2 cents ;)

edit: if battery chemistry is LiFePO4 (probably), it can handle up to 4C charging rate.

Last edited:

dagored

Enlightened
I'm a newbie entering on cr2 rechargeable also.

what is the maximum voltage of JIL CR2 Ti? primary CR2 came with 3.2v, RCR2 should be right after charge 3.6v/3.7v

just my noob 2 cents ;)

Jil CR2 max volt is 3.0. I can find chargers and batteries, but many are 3.6/3.7v. I do not want to fry this light. That is why I listed both the charger and batteries I had found. They seem(cross fingers) to meet the specs.

malow

Newly Enlightened