my first twisty?

Newly Enlightened
So I'm in the market again for an EDC light and I'm noticing that my options really improve price-wise if I don't limit myself to clicky lights. I've only used clickies in the past so I have a very noob-ish question regarding twisties.

Basically, I have shied away from twisties because I don't like the idea that the head isn't always tightened all the way. When I'm just leaving my light in my pocket, it feels insecure to me to know that the head is slightly loose. Am I way off? I have no experience with a well-made twisty light so I have no idea how tight the head stays screwed on when the light is off.

Is this totally wrong? I'm sure it varies from light to light. Do your twisties feel secure and tight when you leave them off?

ragweed

Enlightened
Not really sure what your getting at? Arc AAA , E01 & E05... never a problem...EVER! I think you might be a newbie that does not no his way around twist lights.

gcbryan

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've never had any problems in that regard. Most twisty lights take those things into account in their design. I've also not noticed any relationship to price (being cheaper).

Twisty lights can be shorter (since they don't have the clicky at the end) and are used more frequently with small single AA or AAA lights.

davecroft

Enlightened
Depends partly on the model and even then individual lights will vary. It's hard to be specific as some people will swear that a light has great tight threads, but others will have the same light and the threads are loose. The fact that the threads are loose is not necessarily a major problem, it sometimes makes changing modes a bit of a fiddle though. Not much help I know but if you buy from a good dealer you can always return if it feels not right for you.

To give you an idea of my experience with twisties:

Olight i2 - play in threads
Quark Mini AA - play in threads