led + supercap + dynamo vintage headlight

keys

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

This is my first post, though I've been reading as a guest here occasionally. I just finished my DIY headlight yesterday and thought I'd share it with you. It is not as advanced as some stuff I see here but kind of proud anyway.

Pics here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jalb5yprn57k7j1/RtSAnCwlDt

I have used a 1W cold white LED, a diy diode bridge, one resistor and two 2.7 V 25 F supercaps (that is not a typo) in series. I've also added a switch to prevent the light from staying on when parked in public. The whole thing is currently powered by a bottle dynamo which performs pretty good: 5 minutes of cycling is good for 20~30 minutes of useable light. Guess that 1W was an overestimation. I will be replacing this by a diy magnic-light-ish dynamo but my last prototype exploded so this needs some work :D.

p.s. i'm a theoretical physicist so bear with me on the soldering :huh:.

--edit-- Material cost: about 20 euro ($25)

Last edited:

BobRoss

Newly Enlightened
Neat! I love how those old lights look. You should be rightfully proud.

How did your last prototype explode? It seems like the 2.7V rating on the series caps could make that part susceptible to little explosions. My first try at upgrading a dynamo resulted in a lot of fried LEDs from hooking them up to charged capacitors - that lesson just didn't seem to stick.

Also, since you are theoretical physicist, shouldn't you be harnessing something like weak atomic forces or cosmic rays to generate light? Magnets and coils must seem pretty pedestrian.

keys

Newly Enlightened
Well I got tired of black holes so figured I'd shed some light and settle for a little more mundanity :).