Flashlights and welding

Mervmaster

Newly Enlightened
I'm a welder for an industrial pipe fitting company in new jersey. Shamefully, I have no edc light. I've been indecisive for the nine months I spent as a mailman, and now i need one. its dark inside of those pipes and they need to be thoroughly inspected for slag. My main question is this: heat aside-will the outrageous voltage amperage, and side effect of electro magnetism disturb the circuitry inside a basic edc light?

As a side note, I'll take any and all recommendations for something slim, 80+ lumens and deep carry. AA or AAA cells please.

Thanks a lot!

cerbie

Enlightened
Depending on your definition of slim, what about a Malkoff MDC AA, in black or orange?

80+lm: check.
Deep pocket carry: check, check, and check again. The body is practically designed around a good pocket clip.
AA or AA: AA.
Not needing to try several different lesser flashlights, only to end up buying one that costs a little bit more, despite uninspiring specifications, and then not using the others: $99+sh. ;)

Keep in mind that for 80+lm on 1 AA, alkalines will generally not suffice for more than several minutes, and sometimes not even that. Treat them as a backup power source, and move to Eneloops, or another low self-discharge rechargeable, as your main power source. Make sure to get a charger that can charge each cell individually. This advice is the same for any AA flashlight.

I can't say about the electronics' safety for sure, but I have a hard time imagining a case where you would be fine, but not the electronics.

TEEJ

Flashaholic
They sell welding helmets with LED lights, so, unless its like paper bathing suits, LED's should be OK.

:D

I'm no pro, but the backyard MIG I've done has not affected any of my lights. I can't think of any reason why it should either. Realize that an LED is running about 80 C while lit. Also, +1 for Malkoff and check out 4sevens quarks with the deep-carry clip for good tough lights as well.